Vienna Symphonic Orchestra


Regular price R 3,330.00 R 0.00 Unit price per

Piano with character and style

  • C. Bechstein piano from 1904
  • vintage character
  • Recorded in Stage B of the Synchron Stage Vienna
  • 8 microphone positions for versatile sound shaping options
  • Advanced Release Sample Technology
  • Pre-configured main presets, signature and FX presets

This C. Bechstein piano was built in Berlin-Kreuzberg at the beginning of the 20th century. Its unmistakable vintage character with lots of resonating wood was recorded with a multi-microphone setup on Stage B of the Synchron Stage Vienna.

The very smooth mechanics of the piano allow the finest gradations from pianissimo to fortissimo. The clear and accurate sound development conveys the inspiring atmosphere of an intimate concert hall. In the main playing area, the sound is more reminiscent of a small concert grand piano than a piano. The midrange of the instrument is very emphasized and focused, while its vintage character clearly asserts itself in all registers.

The piano was brought to Stuttgart by the pianoforte factory B. Klinkerfuss, Württemberg's sole agent for C. Bechstein and J. Blüthner, and from then on found its home in families in this area. It was played by pianist and film composer Mick Baumeister, co-creator of the Hornberg Breath Controller, at various stages in his life. The piano was first owned by music teacher Martin Friz, who taught young Mick improvisation. Decades later, Mick bought that piano from the family of German actor Holger Daemgen. It is now, to use his words, his truth-finding piano that continues to inspire him.

8 microphone positions

In order to capture this unique instrument with all its character, our sound engineers have used several configurations with high-quality microphones that offer a wealth of possibilities for individual sound shaping.


  1. Close 1 - Condenser (Neumann KM184 Sphere, X/Y) - Standard Library & Full Library
  2. Close 2 - Ribbon (Royer SF24 Blumlein) - Full Library Only
  3. Close 3 - Condenser (Neumann U87 Ai Cardioids) - Full Library Only
  4. Mid 1 (Sennheiser MKH 40 ORTF behind the piano) - Full Library Only
  5. Mid 2 (Schoeps KFM6 over the piano) - Standard Library & Full Library
  6. Main/Room Mic - Decca Tree Stereo (DPA 4006) - Standard Library & Full Library
  7. Main/Room Mic - Decca Tree Mono (DPA 4006) - Standard Library & Full Library
  8. Main Surround - Stereo (Sennheiser MKH 800) - Full Library Only

Even if you don't create a surround mix, you can achieve a more varied sound image with more spatial depth by enriching your stereo mix with the signals from the room microphones contained in the Full Library.

Individual sound design

The "German Upright 1904" is played with the free Synchron Pianos Player, which offers numerous options for shaping your sound and your playing experience. In addition to the multitude of variations by mixing different microphone signals, the software offers a full mixer with a variety of effects such as EQ, compressor, saturator, algorithmic reverb, delay, chorus, flanger, rotary and much more. The volume of body or string resonances as well as pedal noise can be changed directly in the Play main window. You can even customize EQ settings, volume, tuning and dynamic range for each individual key in the edit window.

A variety of mixer presets offer a wide range of characteristics, accessible directly in the main player window - from intimate acoustics to concert hall placement to pop, ambient and vintage sounds. Various signature and experimental FX presets complete the range of preconfigured sounds.

Sampling with the highest precision

In order to capture the sound of the piano in all its fine nuances, our specially developed robot system was used, which transmits all movements silently to a "robot finger" by means of a magnet. This micro-controller controls the finger with almost superhuman precision and covers all attack and release curves. The latter show the different speeds when releasing a key and each correspond to the previous note length.

Scope of the library

  • Default: samples 63,556 | Download size 5.6 GB | Installed file size 63.6 GB

  • Full: samples 127,112 | Download size 11.6 GB | Installed file size 135.9 GB



  • macOS 10.13 or later
  • 64 bit
  • Intel Core i5/i7/i9/Xeon
  • RAM: 8GB (16GB recommended) - Big Bang Orchestra, SYNCHRONized, Smart Series
  • RAM: 16GB (32GB recommended) - Synchron Libraries, SYNCHRON-ized Dimension Strings & Brass
  • SSD hard drive recommended


  • Windows 8.1/10 or later
  • 64 bit
  • Intel Core i5/i7/i9/Xeon
  • RAM: 8GB (16GB recommended) - Big Bang Orchestra, SYNCHRONized, Smart Series
  • RAM: 16GB (32GB recommended) - Synchron Libraries, SYNCHRON-ized Dimension Strings & Brass
  • SSD hard drive recommended

Free disk space corresponding to the library size.

This product requires activation!

This can either be done on your computer (without additional hardware) or alternatively on an iLok USB dongle that can be purchased separately . The iLok USB dongle can be plugged into any computer in order to use the protected software on several computers. Your licenses can be managed as you like using the iLok License Manager and protected against loss or theft by additional insurance ( Zero Downtime with TLC ).

To activate the product you need an internet connection on any computer and a free user account on . Use the Vienna Assistant to download and install your software products and sample libraries authorized via iLok  .

Please check with the software manufacturer which iLok version is required as a minimum if you want to use a hardware iLok!

AAX native, AU, Mac, VST, Win