Zero G


Regular price R 2,490.00 R 0.00 Unit price per

Thousands of impeccably real, versatile, live recorded 6-bar looped violin phrases performed by world-class violinists

Zero-G and Xfonic present Luminoso Live Violin Phrases. 

Following on from the extremely popular Animato: String & Flute FX for Cinema, and Spiritoso: Live Cello Phrases titles, plus Perpetuo: Live Flute Phrases, the addition of Luminoso forms a quartet of titles dedicated to introducing more realism to sampled instruments.

Performed by Martin and Kate Richardson, two world-class violinists from the Liverpool Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and recorded in Liverpool's famous Parr Street studios, Luminoso: Live Violin Phrases is a 15 GB collection of thousands of live recorded 6-bar looped phrases compressed down to 7 GB using Native Instruments Kontakt's lossless compression technology.

Despite recording only two players, the instrument cleverly layers up to 6 different bars in real-time for the effective sound of a 12-piece string section, or if you wish, you can dial it down to the sound of a solo violin.

Luminoso bridges the gap between premium string libraries which have excellent control, but can sound artificial on certain passages (such as runs, arpeggios, fast rhythms), and 'pre-recorded melodic phrases' libraries, which can sound dazzling on first listen but have little useful control and can grow tired quickly.

Luminoso remains highly controllable, despite being made from pre-recorded phrases. This has been achieved by recording the same patterns across a wide pitch and dynamic range with many scale variations, by choosing patterns that blend in particularly well to a wide variety of musical styles, and then by allowing you to automatically sync to the tempo of your projects with a wide variety of chord, rhythm and scale types all controlled with key-switches.

Dynamic levels pp to ff can be smoothly cross-faded by mod wheel, the ensemble size can be zoomed from solo to 12 players, and two mic positions (close and room) can be chosen or blended.


  • Chords, Arpeggios and Runs (selectable from key switches):
    Major, melodic minor, harmonic minor, sus2, sus4, diminished, augmented, minor 6th, minor 7th, 7th, major 7th, fifths, eastern, chromatic, whole note and other scales.
  • Rhythm Types (selectable from key switches):
    Quarter notes, 8ths, 16ths, 8th triplets, 16th triplets, quarter note triplets.
  • Ensemble Size:
    Continuously selectable from solo to 12 players.
  • Mic Positions:
    Close and Room (with separate volume and pan controls).
  • Effects suite:
    Convolution and algorithmic reverbs, delay, modulation effects, distortion, compression.
  • Patch Types:
    Live (real), Mutated (processed, sound designed patches), Mod Wheel Filter versions (versions of the Live patches, but with the Mod Wheel controlling the filter for a gently synthesized effect).
  • Additional Options:
    Load and unload scale types to save memory. Play at double or half project tempo. Spread the players from widely-panned to a close central group.

Download Size (RAR files):

  • Parts 1 - 6:  953 MB each
  • Part 7:  752 MB


  • Kontakt files
  • Wav