Vienna Symphonic Orchestra


Regular price R 1,670.00 R 0.00 Unit price per

Big Bang Orchestra: Izar - Low Brass Clusters

  • Low Brass Ensemble of the Synchron Stage Vienna

  • Four bass trombones, a bass tuba, and a double bass tuba

  • Halftone clusters in a variety of styles

  • Switchable fortississimo for a particularly haunting sound

  • Many microphone positions with additional “close” mics

  • From the ominous pianissimo to the dramatic fortississimo

Clusters have become a fixture in modern film scores. The deep brass instruments in particular are predestined to produce the desired sound effects here. That is why VSL has dedicated its own Big Bang Orchestra library to this playing technique.

BBO: Izar contains all articulations (except legato) from BBO: Hercules played as a cluster. Contains short notes, marcati, sforzandi, sforzatissimi, various crescendos and diminuendos, flutter tongue, trills, glissandi and quick repetitions. All clusters consist of three semitones lying next to each other, with the note played on the keyboard in the middle and sounding together with a semitone above and a note below.

The ensemble recorded for Big Bang Orchestra: Izar consists of four bass trombones, a bass tuba and a double bass tuba. An extra fff layer can be activated for long tones. If BBO: Hercules is also installed on the computer, crossfades are possible between the unison tones of the low brass library and the low brass clusters.

The standard mixer presets are available in the free synchronous player, which guarantees a homogeneous sound when used in combination with the other modules of the Big Bang Orchestra. In addition, the “Processed” category contains mixer presets such as “Compressed”, “Sparkling”, “Wall of Low Brass”, “Howling Brass”, “Threatening Sustain” and many more that correspond to the presets from BBO: Hercules.

System requirements

  • PC Windows 7/8/10 (last update, 64-bit), Intel Core 2 Duo or AMD Athlon 64 X2
  • macOS 10.10 (last update) or higher, Intel Core 2 Duo
  • SSD (M2, Sata 6 or USB3 / 3.1 UASP support) for the sample content
  • 8 GB RAM (16 GB or more recommended)
  • AU / VST / AAX Native Compatible Host Program (AAX version requires Pro Tools 10.3.5 or higher)

Other system configurations can work, but are not actively supported.


  • PC Windows 7/8/10 (last update, 64-bit), Intel i5 / i7 / Xeon
  • macOS 10.12 (or higher), Intel i5 / i7 / Xeon
  • 16 GB RAM or more, depending on your registered products
  • 88 key master keyboard

This product requires activation!

This can either be done on your computer (without additional hardware) or alternatively on an iLok USB dongle that can be purchased separately . The iLok USB dongle can be plugged into any computer in order to use the protected software on several computers. Your licenses can be managed as you like using the iLok License Manager and protected against loss or theft by additional insurance ( Zero Downtime with TLC ).

To activate the product you need an internet connection on any computer and a free user account on . Use the Vienna Assistant to download and install your software products and sample libraries authorized via iLok  .

Please check with the software manufacturer which iLok version is required as a minimum if you want to use a hardware iLok!